Tuesday, July 30, 2019
OPINION --- If you ask, you shall receive. Will Jones got himself an ice cream at the dump during the extreme heat wave.
Monday, July 29, 2019
OPINION --- Closing one of five landfills in a small township, necessitating the public to drive an additional 10 minutes, is the right decision.
Thursday, July 18, 2019
OPINION --- We think all of our local clubs and organizations need to examine how they are recruiting volunteers or it won't be just the Minden Bluegrass Festival and the Festival of the August Moon cancelled in future.
Thursday, July 18, 2019
OPINION --- Are you with me? #Canadianmintsucks #hashtagsaredumb #bringbackthepoundsign.
Saturday, July 13, 2019
OPINION --- Nowadays, people cannot say that they didn't know. Both Parks Canada, the TSW and the CEWF provide volumes of information on their websites.
Thursday, July 11, 2019
OPINION --- Hmm, now I've said it, that doesn't sound too bad. Maybe he can just come back on his birthdays ... just don't tell his mother I said that.
Thursday, July 4, 2019
OPINION --- I'm the kind of guy who likes a chat and a chortle while shopping. I like the proprietor to be on hand to answer the myriad questions I still have about fishing and hunting.
Thursday, July 4, 2019
OPINION ---The Minden Hills kids fishing derby made rising a little earlier than usual on July 1 worth every minute.
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
OPINION --- The howling of the bugs is upon us.
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
OPINION --- Dysart et al needs to do its homework as it raises the level of surveillance in the community.
Friday, June 21, 2019
OPINION --- Summer fishing trips are not the same when you lose a friend.
Friday, June 21, 2019
OPINION --- Haliburton Highlands Health Service should reflect and learn after the Highland Wood evacuation.
Thursday, June 13, 2019
OPINION --- There are more important problems the premier and his people should be setting their minds to solving. The availability of beer and wine is certainly not one of them.
Thursday, June 13, 2019
OPINION --- The Outsider thinks mowing - just like fireworks - should be banned during parts of the summer.
Thursday, June 13, 2019
OPINION --- Five years ago, in 2014, the TLDSB had 94 people on the sunshine list making just under $11 million. Last year, the list ballooned to 181 workers making just shy of $21 million.
Thursday, June 6, 2019
OPINION --- The thing was, we were standing around a red-hot burn barrel, the flames licking at the rim, and we were drinking very large margaritas.
Thursday, June 6, 2019
OPINION --- The global recycling crisis is hitting close to home. We can all do our little bit to help the environment.
Thursday, May 30, 2019
OPINION --- So, that's my ambition for this year, to make a potato cannon. I may moan about how difficult it is, or not.
Thursday, May 30, 2019
OPINION --- We need to practice that common sense stuff: don't drink and swim or boat; don't go alone and wear that PFD.
Friday, May 24, 2019
OPINION --- Revovating for a living is one thing - but when you have to do work on your own home - well that's another thing altogether.
Friday, May 24, 2019
OPINION --- The last pieces of the Haliburton County internet puzzle is sitting on the minister and PM's desk. It's time for them to announce $71 million in funding.
Friday, May 17, 2019
OPINION --- What did libraries ever do to you, Doug? I mean, come on, they are practically defenseless. Why give them cuts?
Friday, May 17, 2019
OPINION --- The County of Haliburton does not appear to have the desire to make amalgamation happen.
Friday, May 17, 2019
OPINION --- Winter is over and it is time to adjust to the thousands of seasonal residents coming to Haliburton.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7